2019 wga awards daytime noms

Image: Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

Honoring the best writers of daytime television.

Television writers work hard each day to bring viewers the best storylines for their shows and every year those behind the scenes in news, radio, promotional writing, graphic animation and daytime television are honored by the Writers Guild of America, a labor union representing television and film writers. Soaps.com has the details surrounding the 71st Annual Writers Guild of America Awards as well as nominees in the category of Best Daytime Drama. The dual ceremonies will be held next year on Sunday February 17, 2019 at 8:00 PM Eastern at The Beverly Hilton Hotel at 9876 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills, California, as well as The Edison Ballroom at 240 West 47th Street in New York City, New York.

More: 2018 Writers Guild daytime winner

Special instructions for submissions in the daytime category, as listed by the WGA, states, “Furnish three scripts (not necessarily in sequence) together with outlines for same which the head writer and second writer(s) agree should be submitted for the award. Each of the three scripts is judged as a part of a coherent whole; the award is given accordingly.”

Without further ado, the Best Daytime Drama nominees, based off of scenes for their 2018 work, go as follows…

Days of our Lives writers

Head writer Ron Carlivati and writers Sheri Anderson, Lorraine Broderick, David Cherrill, Joanna Cohen, Lisa Connor, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, Cydney Kelley, David Kreizman, David A. Levinson, Rebecca McCarty, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Katherine Schock, Elizabeth Snyder and Tyler Topits.

General Hospital writers

Head writers Shelly Altman, Christopher Van Etten and writers: Barbara Bloom, Anna Theresa Cascio, Suzanne Flynn, Charlotte Gibson, Lucky Gold, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O’Connor, Donny Sheldon and Scott Sickles.

Soaps.com sends the ABC and NBC soaps and its writers the best of luck and we’ll be back in February to report the winners!