New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg presented the fourth annual “Made in NY” awards on Monday, June 15. The awards are given out to individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the city’s entertainment industry.

Although Guiding Light was not given an award, the mayor did make sure to pay his respects to the long running series and honor the positive role it has played for in the city’s entertainment community. The show has been based in New York City since 1949 when it was still a radio serial. He also acknowledged that the Guinness Book of World Records named it the world’s longest-running TV drama. Cast members Frank Dicopoulos (Frank Cooper) and Caitlin Van Zandt (Ashlee Wolfe) were on hand for the ceremony at Gracie Mansion.

“New York City is home of some of the most talented people on the planet, and tonight’s honorees prove just that,” Mayor Bloomberg said. This year, there were five honorees: Actress Edie Falco; Broadway composer and lyricist Lin-Manuel Miranda; Gerry Byrne, Senior Vice President for the Entertainment Group at Nielson Business Media; Hungry Man, a New York-based commercial production company; Alliance for Inclusion in the Arts, a not-for-profit advocacy organization; and “Sesame Street.”