List of Shows



    recommended for you


    Tell your friends

    TELL YOUR FRIENDS

    Vampire Diaries - NEWS ROOM

    The Vampire Diaries Author L.J. Smith Is Fired By Harper/Alloy. - Vampire Diaries News - Soaps.com

    The Vampire Diaries Author L.J. Smith Is Fired By Harper/Alloy.

    Wednesday, February 09 2011


    L.J. Smith (L.J. Smith)
    Parting ways.

    There have been rumors circulating on the web for awhile, but L.J. Smith, author of the original The Vampire Diaries books, has confirmed on her official blog that she has parted ways with HarperTeen/Alloy, the company which has been publishing her books. Alloy Entertainment owns the rights to the books and the characters therein. They hired her in 1990 to write the novels. It's unclear what this will mean for future books in the series, if there will be any, but it should have no effect on the TV series.

    Smith issued this statement on her blog:

    "First, I want to thank my readers for all their messages of support. I’ve gotten far too many emails to answer, and I really appreciate the kindness and emotional sustenance you’ve given to me at this difficult time.

    Second, if you’ve asked me a question about the future books or the endgame of 'The Vampire Diaries' and I’ve been vague about what’s in store, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize. I really wasn’t looking forward to the day when I would have to talk about this.

    Third, and most importantly, I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper’s or anyone. It just doesn’t make sense. Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there’s no point in not trying the new books. (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.) Besides which, 'Midnight,' which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in 'Phantom'."



    Feel free to read our latest Vampire Diaries Weekly Recap. We invite you to join Soaps.com on Twitter @soapoperafan, and Facebook. Come tweet and Facebook with us about Vampire Diaries, Grey's Anatomy, Glee, and all current soap operas!


    email PRINTABLE VERSION - View a printer friendly version of this article

    Please register and login to be able to email this article to your friends

    USER COMMENTS

    Posted by lisamarie2010 at Thursday, February 10 2011 03:59 PM

    Aww...

    Posted by LOVECHILDALWAYS at Friday, February 11 2011 06:55 AM

    I've never read the books and more than likely won;t read them. However, I think she was LJ was very mature about her exit. I wish her nothing but the best and just want to thank her for Vampire Diaries I love the show. Good luck!!!

    MORE COMMENTS: page:

    Please Register and login to post your comments.
    » Back to News Room