GL Triumphs at the Emmys image

David Kreizman accepts the Emmy for Writing (

Producer Ellen Wheeler accepts for Outstanding Drama (

At the 34th Daytime Emmy Awards, broadcast this year from Hollywood's Kodak Theater, Morgan Fairchild, looking as radiant as ever, arrived on stage to give the Outstanding Drama highlights for Guiding Light early on in the night. We had peaks from the cancer story, the Jammy story, Gus' addiction and the many shirtless moments from the male cast flying by in a flash.

The extraordinarily handsome trio of Murray Bartlett (Cyrus Foley), Marcy Rylan (Lizzie Spaulding) and Michelle Ray Smith (Ava Peralta) presented the award for Outstanding Writing Team and, to their delight (Marcy screamed with joy), GL won. Head writer David Kreizman walked up to accept on behalf of the team, paying homage to Irna Phillips who created the show 70 years ago, and to all of the people behind the show that make it possible.

Kim Zimmer, looking lovely in pink, came on to say that she really felt like a winner for being part of a show that has made history and been around for 70 years. To acknowledge the show's history, and its debt to the fans, they showed highlights of the Find Your Light campaign and Robert Newman narrated a brief look back on the history of the show which featured glimpses of many of the favorite characters of the past.

In a shocking turn, GL tied for Outstanding Drama Series. Producer Ellen Wheeler ran up to proclaim that '70 rocks!' and thanked everyone at Procter and Gamble and CBS while the cast and crew filled the stage. She thanked the viewers and all of the people who they have worked with rebuilding houses as part of the Find Your Light campaign. The second Emmy went to Y & R, although it was awkward for them to get on the stage.

There were some disappointments early on though; sadly Gina Tognoni (Dinah Marler), Tom Pelphrey (Jonathan Randall), Stephanie Gatschet (Tammy Winslow), Crystal Chappell (Olivia Spenser), Ricky Paull Goldin (Gus Aitoro) and Kim Zimmer (Reva Shayne) didn't receive their well-deserved awards. In a side note, former Alan-Michael Spaulding (1990-96), Rick Hearst, won Best Supporting Actor for his work on GH.

In addition, the show also received the award for Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction And Composition For A Drama Series. sends out a hearty congratulations to all of the winners and nominees! It's wonderful, and fitting, that they've been honored on their anniversary year, marking one of the most remarkable milestones in television history.'s own glamorous Editor-In-Chief Christine Fix and Journalist Shannon Burrell will continue to bring everyone highlights from the red carpet and parties around town in coming days.